AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: G.A. MILLER

blog icon

Greetings from the Ether,

This is the first chapter in our Author Spotlight series, featuring G.A. Miller, author of “Earwax,” and “Bequeath.”

Miller’s work “Bequeath” is featured in Hinnom Magazine Issue 001, available now from all distributors, including Amazon.

Let the interview commence!

CP: You have the very special distinction of being the first author Gehenna & Hinnom ever contractually signed, that being for our Body Horror Anthology. “Earwax,” the tale in question, is a very interesting short fiction that we are sure readers will find gross but humorous. Can you go a little in-depth as to your inspiration behind “Earwax” and what fostered the concept?

GM: In the spirit of “Write what you know”, I’ve had issues with excess ear wax all my life. I do have the softening drops, the catch basin and the pump bottle, which my wife uses on occasion to help me remove the buildup. Well, I should say she “did” help me…after reading the story, she’s not quite so inclined any longer.

“As to influential authors, the range from Stoker to Poe to Bloch to King comes immediately to mind, but Stephen King more than any other. His work is so relatable…you feel as though you’ve been to those places and met those people, and that connection makes the events so much more personal.”

CP: While speaking of inspiration, what inspired you to become a writer? And what authors helped carve your path to horror?

GM: I’ve been a voracious reader all my life, and have often toyed with the idea of writing, but set it on the back burner for a myriad of reasons. This past January, I decided to stop finding reasons to not write and commit to giving it my best effort. As to influential authors, the range from Stoker to Poe to Bloch to King comes immediately to mind, but Stephen King more than any other. His work is so relatable…you feel as though you’ve been to those places and met those people, and that connection makes the events so much more personal.

CP: What are your goals and aspirations as a writer? What does the future hold for G.A. Miller?

GM: I simply want to hone my skills, to be better at the craft with every new outing, so that readers enjoy what they’re reading, and look forward to more. It’s a process, and I apply myself as diligently as time allows, what with a full-time job and family obligations.

CP: Tell us something that not many readers know about you.

GM: Not many readers would know that I was a songwriter and musician for over four decades, and had a complete 24 track digital recording studio in my home. That was where I learned the wisdom of the old advice to “Keep your day job!”

“This story let me vent voraciously and allow Mark to take a path that would never have been an option for me. Sadly, Mark bit off more than he could chew, and the consequences were profound.”

CP: Hinnom Magazine Issue 001 is live. Your story “Bequeath” is within its contents. What inspired “Bequeathed” and how did you make a plot element that is sometimes seen as a trope, so exciting, unique, and fresh?

GM: While I didn’t suffer the extreme indignities that Mark Baker did in the story, I did have my share of dealing with bullies growing up, and know firsthand the frustrations and the resulting isolation those episodes can cause. This story let me vent voraciously and allow Mark to take a path that would never have been an option for me. Sadly, Mark bit off more than he could chew, and the consequences were profound.

1456598027-800px
Artwork for “Bequeath”

CP: Do you have any other works releasing soon that our readers can look forward to? If not, are you currently working on any pieces?

GM: I have a short piece that I’m planning to submit for your next reading period titled “Blind Terror”. Our primary sense is our sight, our first exposure to everything from pleasure to terror, and our main character is isolated in pitch darkness, in a claustrophobic space, relying on his other senses to try and find his way out, especially when he discovers he is not alone.

CP: If you could meet and converse with any writer, living or dead, who would it be? Why?

GM: Wow, this is difficult, as there are so many…Poe, Lovecraft, King, for example, but the “Why” is easy. To just get a sense of the people behind the keyboards, and in so doing, a sense of what led them down the path they chose.

CP: What is your favorite novel or work, and/or author? Why?

GM: “Salem’s Lot” by Stephen King. I read Bram Stoker’s “Dracula” more times than I can count growing up, caught every new Christopher Lee outing from Hammer films in the ‘60’s and ‘70’s, yet King’s epic vampire novel was such a fresh take on the classic vampire tale, along with his relatable prose and characters, that I was hooked. It was my first King book, and remains my favorite to this day.

CP: What is your writing process?

GM: For the quick, spur of the moment ideas that always occur at the most inconvenient times, I use Google Keep on my phone to capture them, which syncs with the desktop version. I outline, organize, and write the entire piece in Scrivener, then export to Microsoft Word for final editing. The other advantage to working in Scrivener is that I can export in Kindle format, and proof read the work on the Kindle, the cell phone, whatever is handy. That simple change of venue often highlights issues I’d otherwise have missed.

“Write what you’d enjoy reading, write it as well as you can, share it with anyone who will take the time to read it and ask for their honest opinions about it, and listen to those opinions.”

CP: If you could give advice to new, young authors concerning the publishing world, what would it be? And why?

GM: Write what you’d enjoy reading, write it as well as you can, share it with anyone who will take the time to read it and ask for their honest opinions about it, and listen to those opinions. Learn from them. Network with other writers, and ask questions, read the questions and responses of others. It’s an evergreen process, and I hope I never stop learning as I go. Don’t fall for the “pay us and we’ll make you successful” offers. If it seems too good to be true, it probably is. Find a publisher whose sense of commitment and dedication is as sincere as C.P. Dunphey’s is, and you won’t go wrong (yes, I was fortunate in that regard). Above all else…. have fun and enjoy the journey!

Visit Miller’s website here.

Don’t forget to follow this blog and follow us on social media!

Thanks so much for stopping by. Always remember to Embrace the Unknown.

One thought on “AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: G.A. MILLER

Leave a Reply

