AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: JOHN LEAHY

John Leahy headshot

 

Greetings from the Ethereal Plane,

This is the fourth chapter in our Author Spotlight series, featuring John Leahy, author of “Hunger.”

Leahy’s work, “Hunger” is featured in Hinnom Magazine Issue 001, available now from all distributors, including Amazon.

Let the interview commence!

 

CP: You have released several novels, won awards, and have been published multiple times with your short fiction. Can you describe your progress and go a little in-depth regarding your journey as an author?

 

JL: As a child I wrote a lot of short stories. In adulthood I began to write longer works.  I didn’t write my first novel–CROGIANuntil I was in my mid-thirties. After CROGIAN I wrote three more novels, all published. In between, and around the novels, came numerous short stories.

“Stephen King, Clive Barker, and Anne Rice would be the writers that pushed my inclinations toward the darker side of writing.”

CP: While speaking of progress, what inspired you to become a writer? And what authors helped carve your path to the darker side of fiction?

 

JL: Nothing inspired me, as such. It was just something I’ve always wanted to do since I was a child. And I did it as a child–I didn’t wait around to get older.  Stephen King, Clive Barker, and Anne Rice would be the writers that pushed my inclinations toward the darker side of writing.

 

handgrabstheearth-800px
Artwork for “Hunger”

CP: What are your goals and aspirations as a writer? What does the future hold for John Leahy?

 

JL: I hope to secure a publishing deal with a major publishing house and to be in a financial position to devote the entirety of my day to planning and writing.

 

CP: Tell us something that not many readers know about you.

 

JL: I play keyboards in a wedding band!

“I was going to work one morning when the image of a huge alien hand smashing up through the ground and grabbing a tube carriage came into my mind.”

CP: Hinnom Magazine Issue 001 is live. Your story “Hunger” is within its contents. What inspired “Hunger?”

 

JL: I worked in London for six months and used the tube–the underground, which you call the subway in the States–quite a bit. I was going to work one morning when the image of a huge alien hand smashing up through the ground and grabbing a tube carriage came into my mind.

 

CP: Do you have any other works releasing soon that our readers can look forward to? If not, are you currently working on any pieces?

 

JL: Yes I’m having a short story entitled Work (a sci-fi/horror tale in which a young boy becomes preoccupied with his new neighbor across the road) published in the Rice Paper Press horror anthology soon. Also, my sci-fi horror novel Harvest is being published under Post Mortem Publications on October 3rd 2017. I’m in the planning stages of a dark fantasy novel which is “growing legs”–it may give rise to prequel and offshoot novels!

 

CP: If you could meet and converse with any writer, living or dead, who would it be? Why?

 

JL: It would have to be Ian McEwan, because I love the uniquely humorous way he has of describing people’s mannerisms, and ways of thinking.

 

CP: What is your favorite novel or work, and/or author? Why?

 

JL: My favorite novel would have to be On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan. It’s a short novel, a lot shorter than most novels that I read, but that’s part of the reason why it’s my favorite. McEwan packs so much density–all killer no filler, as they say–into a little over 100 pages. It’s practically over before you know it, but it leaves a powerful effect. A rare skill, being able to pack such potency into so little space.

“I find that the more I plan, the quicker the writing comes. And when I start writing, I try to stick to at least 750 words a day.”

CP: What is your writing process?

 

JL: I plan a lot–as much as time allows. I find that the more I plan, the quicker the writing comes. And when I start writing, I try to stick to at least 750 words a day.

 

CP: If you could give advice to new, young authors concerning the publishing world, what would it be? And why?

 

JL: Because it’s cheaper than ever to get published now, that means it’s easier than ever to get published. The market is saturated with material–a lot of it rubbish, unfortunately. Make sure what you write is unique enough to stand out from the crowd, otherwise you will be lost in the clutter.

 

Visit Leahy’s Amazon author page here.

Don’t forget to follow this blog and follow us on social media!

Thanks so much for stopping by. Always remember to Embrace the Unknown.

Leave a Reply

